In the state of Florida, a first conviction for DUI carries with it the below penalties. Note that although this list and those for additional offenses are thorough, you should contact me right away for a comprehensive explanation and additional parameters (including those for DUI Manslaughter and Chemical/Physical Test Provisions). Penalties include:
- Fines – You must pay the State of Florida between $500 and $1000 for standard offenses. If your blood alcohol level falls within the enhanced penalty range, you will be fined between $1000 and $2000.
- Community service – For a first conviction of DUI, you must perform community service totaling 50 hours. Alternately, the fine may be raised up to $500 ($10 per hour) to account for this requirement.
- Probation – Probation can last a maximum of twelve months, but that also includes any time that is spent in jail.
- Imprisonment – Needless to say, the most ominous penalty for a first DUI is incarceration. If convicted, you may be sentenced to a total of six months for a standard offense and up to nine months with the enhanced penalty. However, the court may decide that you can spend part or all that time in an addiction rehabilitation center.
- Impoundment – The consequences of a first DUI will also typically include impoundment of your vehicle for 10 days, provided that it is not the sole form of transportation for your family.
- License revocation – Your driver license will also be revoked after a first DUI conviction. The period of time during which you must forgo driving privileges will be between six and twelve months.
- Education – Another punishment for a first DUI is an informational course. You can potentially have your driver license reinstated during the revocation due to hardship, but that requires completion of the training program. After the revocation span has elapsed, you still must enroll in a DUI class in order to have your license reinstated.