Even given the fact that speeding tickets can be exorbitantly expensive to those who receive them, the National Motorists Association has estimated that perhaps 1 in 20 drivers fight their traffic ticket. “[D]rivers may feel so hopeless in fighting the system,” explained Investopedia, “or because they may think the $200 fine is the end of it, most simply pay the fine and then move on.”
It’s important you don’t immediately pay your traffic ticket! Why? Legally, it represents an admittance of guilt. You’re agreeing to the costliest fee. It’s typical to have 3 months to plea or pay, so look at legal options.
Note that in the vast majority of cases, you won’t even have to step foot in a courtroom to contest the citation.
Is this your first time getting a traffic ticket in Polk County? Speak with the Clerk of the Circuit Court. You might be able to get your fine reduced and avoid insurance increases for an initial citation if you plead no contest, aka no lo contendere.
The next step is to look at every detail on the traffic ticket to see if anything is inaccurate, such as:
- Citation number
“You can file a ‘discovery of motion’ to request all the information about your case,” noted Investopedia, “including the officer’s notes, calibration certificates for the radar gun and other details.”
If the details on your citation are incorrect, it could be dismissed because it essentially discredits the veracity of the information.
It is extremely common that a speeding ticket contains inaccuracies.
Check out our traffic fine FAQ pages to find out about how to fight, contest, and get out of a speeding ticket. It’s also a smart move to speak to one of our traffic ticket attorneys at Fulmer Law, PA.
Note: Do you want to know more about the Florida statutes on traffic citations? Speeding and similar provisions are covered in the Florida Uniform Traffic Control Law (Title XXIII, Chapter 316), sections 316.183-316.1926.