DUI stands for “driving under the influence,” which means driving is impaired by drugs or alcohol. It is determined by physiological indications or alcohol in the bloodstream at .08% or higher.
If you get a DUI, you are held in jail until your first court appearance, when the judge reads the police report and decides if there is probable cause.
A DUI can carry penalties that include a fine of $500-$2000, 50 hours of community service, twelve months of probation, and up to nine months of imprisonment.
The fine for a standard DUI is between $500 and $1000. If the blood-alcohol level is .15 or more, or if a child is onboard, it is between $1000 and $2000.
If you are convicted of a DUI, penalties can include fines, community service, probation, incarceration, impoundment of your car, license revocation, and a DUI training course.
When you look at the total of legal fines, lawyer fees, and car insurance rate hikes, a DUI is incredibly expensive. The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles estimates average cost at $8000.
Typically, a first or second DUI is a misdemeanor. That’s true of many third DUIs also. If the DUI is a misdemeanor, injuring another person or destroying property is a First Degree Misdemeanor.
There are three scenarios in which DUI is a felony: any fourth DUI or any third one within ten years of the second; cases of serious harm to others; and vehicular homicide or DUI manslaughter.
For teenagers, the State of Florida has a Zero Tolerance law. Anyone with a blood-alcohol level of .02 or more gets a license suspension for six months following a first offense.
After your arrest, you will get a temporary 10-day driver license. Within that ten-day period, you need to request an administrative hearing to try to get back your license.
If you blow over .08, you will not be able to drive for six months. If you are unwilling to blow, the license suspension lasts a full year.
You can only get a DUI expunged or sealed for a single offense. You could potentially get the charge reduced to Reckless Driving, or the charges could be dropped.
Like any type of criminal conviction, a DUI will always remain on your record, except when you are able to get it expunged or sealed.